Persona 2 Innocent Drama CD – The Errors of Their Youth [booklet translation]

Another set of scans I posted some seven years ago and finally got to translate, proof that it’s never too late to finish what you started and even procrastination can be defeated. Eventually.

The booklet opens with comments from Tasaki Toshiko, the one who came up with the idea of this drama CD, and Satomi Tadashi, in charge with the scenario. It also contains a very brief ‘interview’ with the main voice actors; basically them answering the same set of questions. Spoilers: everyone loves Lisa.

The entire booklet is scanned here.

Tasaki Toshiko – Sound Director & Music Composer

Thank you for purchasing Atlus’s “endless youth”. The fact that Atlus is able to do something like this is thanks to customers like you! Thankies~.
This CD was actually created because I pestered Atlus about iiit~. Lord Igor and Lord Nanashi did their best soooo many times, and all the actors worked so hard for the recording, with its ups and downs, for which I am super extra grateful. Tee-hee-hee. Oh, right, let me share the best part: Maya’s impersonation! I also have to tell you that Tatsuya’s Persona Ondou and Jun’s anguished scene reaaaally sent my heart in a flutter~!!! Not to mention that The Persona 2 Innocent Sin Original CD revived so, so many memories…right before my eyes…oh, ooooh! So I really recommend it.
So! Whoever hasn’t bought it yet, go ahead and buy it, do it, do it! Super nice talking to you all.
Toshiko


Satomi Tadashi – Scenario

‘Why do I exist?’, ‘What am I?’…these types of fundamental questions have probably become some sort of taboo for the modern man, who has left faith behind.
I am sure there are people who lament how convenient the line we heard so many times as children was – ‘You’ll understand once you grow up’.
An uneasiness that crawls up from the bottom of the heart. Once you become its prey, your heart falls into a darkness full of chaos and it is gripped by a fear that will almost shatter your sense of ‘self’.
Perhaps that is why we surround ourselves with so many things, fear the dark and fill the night with light.
In order to fight these fears, humans have envisioned weapons such as dreams and ideals…wouldn’t you call them masks of the heart?
However, carrying so many contradictions also means living with many sins. We are sinful creatures. Should we call this the punishment we received from God for eating the fruit of knowledge?
And yet, daring to raise one’s face means the beginning of Persona’s story.
Perhaps we should know that both gods and demons dwell inside the human heart.
Let’s not forget, sin and punishment are something we commit and receive ourselves…

Anyway, this CD has some amazing title and content…
Satomi Tadashi

  1. What do you think about the character you play?
  2. What did you focus on while voicing the character? Did you encounter any difficulties?
  3. What character would you choose as your lover? Please tell us why.
  4. If rumours really did become reality, what rumour would you spread?
  5. How do you spend your free days?

Koyasu Takehito (Suoh Tatsuya)

  1. He’s sinful.
  2. Everything!
  3. Ginko (she’s cute and silly)
  4. I am the strongest in the Universe…
  5. Hehehe…it’s a secret ♥

Shibuya Shigeru (Kurosu Jun)

  1. Pretty boy. Gloomy. Stubborn. The type to stay by himself in class. Mother complex.
  2. It was difficult to perform so mant types of darkness.
  3. Kurosu Junko. I love older women. I also love boing boings. (does anyone even use this term anymore…?)
  4. ‘Kuchisake-onna is back. Millennium, 2000s version. She’s married to a Kuchisake-otoko. Their son is Mick Jagger’s nephew.’
  5. Rest comes first, so I just sleep. I also spend time on the computer and bake cakes.

Konishi Hiroko (Lisa Silverman)

  1. She’s direct and honest with her feelings. She’s cheeky, but very honest.
  2. She’s a foreigner who speaks Cantonese, so the intonation was difficult.
  3. I don’t like anyone. I’d rather date a normal person.
  4. ‘Fun on a southern island.’
  5. I just spend the whole day in a daze and don’t do anything.

Yajima Akiko (Amano Maya)

  1. She looks rather calm and collected at first sight, but has got an unexpected cheerful side, so I was a bit surprised.
  2. It was a little difficult to express her cheerfulness without being swayed by my first impression.
  3. Robin Goodfellow (he looks like he’d help me with housework).
  4. ‘I’ll marry Kato* Shin* ♥’*
  5. I go for walks or just idle the time away.

Toriumi Kousuke (Mishina Eikichi)

  1. Silly, crude, a hotheaded Tokyo kid who does as he pleases…still, he’s a sensitive guy and reeeeally cute~~~!
  2. I have a feeling I aaaalways had to yell…did I? It’s a role full of tension, so I had to pay attention not to lower the volume…
  3. Eikichi, my beloved yankii ♥ ….It’s the first time I pick a man…
  4. ‘Toriumi Kousuke is a rockstar!’
  5. I sleep, go shopping, watch TV, listen to music, drink (I prefer beer)

Hanba Tomoe (Mayuzumi Yukino)

  1. Basically a big sis*. I wouldn’t have imagined she’s actually younger than me. She’s become a ‘fine woman’ after the previous game.
  2. I lowered my voice as much as possible, it was quite the challenge.
  3. Maya. I love everything about her. Be my woman, Maya.
  4. ‘Hanba’s breakthrough. Is this for real?’
  5.  I basically just rest.

Aono Takeshi (Igor)

  1. An unidentifiable character. Those eyes and nose…is he human? Animal? Bird? I can’t tell!
  2. How do I voice this unidentifiable character?
  3. N/A
  4. I don’t like rumours…
  5. I sleep and drink.

Ryuutani Osamu (Nanashi, Bobby-kun)

  1. Nanashi: one gloomy guy. But I’m glad I could play a human. // Bobby-kun: Looks like he’s a dog. Not Pipo-kun.
  2. Nanashi: I was…nervous about my collaboration with Aono. // Bobby-kun: I was…nervous about my collaboration with Koyasu.
  3. Li-Lisa? (she seems to have a nice body)
  4. ‘Could it be I’m the biggest star of the century?~…That’s what they say…’
  5. I sleep until I wake up.

Kaneko Noriko (Serizawa Ulala)

  1. Easy to empathise with. Looks like an interesting person.
  2. I figured I’d need to ad lib…and there were several patterns?!
  3. Ulala, of course! I think she’s a really fine woman…
  4. ‘Kaneko Noriko is Microsoft’s general manager!’ (am I overdoing it?)
  5. Laundry, if the weather is nice. I like it quite a lot.

Yamanoi Jin (Nyarlathotep)

  1. Someone with another side to him.
  2. I’m a good person at heart, so playing an evil role was a bit…There’s a big gap between the profession and the lines.
  3. Ginko. She’s full of energy.
  4. ‘Everyone will become rich.’
  5.  I clean the house, cook, drink.

Tsunoda Saho (old lady, narrator)

  1. A cute old lady. An old lady who understands a lot.
  2. This was my first time voicing an old lady, so everything was hard.
  3. Tatsuya.
  4. ‘I live at Disneyland.’
  5. I go bowling or just laze around.

About dijeh

Translations about things I like.
This entry was posted in Megaten and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment