Kanno Yoko Talking about Turn A Gundam’s Music (snippet)

私は富野さんに、”本物の音楽”をお渡ししたかったんですよね。つまり半年かけて富野さんが仰っていたことは、「俺に本物をくれ」ということだったのかな?って。私は日本のアニメ音楽とハリウッド映画の音楽の違いってすごくあると思っていて、ハリウッドってシーンを盛り上げるための、まさにバッグ・グラウンド・ミュージックを求めますけど、私の考えるアニメの音楽はそのシーンの情景や人物の心情を音楽でどう付加するかなんですよね。盛り上がるかどうかは、あくまでも結果でしかないというか。富野さんの場合も、作品と同じ哲学を持った音楽をシーンの横に並べたい演出家だと思いました。哲学が共有されず、音楽が勝手に盛り上がるようなことは避けたいと思った。とにかく富野さんの求める音楽を、せっせと作った感じですね。「∀ガンダム」の深みを表現するのに必要なのは“盛り上がる音楽”じゃなくて、“同じ哲学を鳴らす音楽”なので。

 

 

I wanted to present Tomino with “real music” and it took me about half a year to make the “real thing” he had asked for. To me, there is a big difference between the music you hear in Japanese animation and that of Hollywood movies. If you want to build up a scene in a Hollywood movie, what you want is exactly the so-called “background music”, but the anime music I think about has to complement the scene and the characters’ feelings. Whether it creates any build up or not is just one outcome. I thought Tomino too was a director to whose work I wanted to add simialr music. I wanted to avoid creating music that was only good for build up and didn’t share the same outlook. Either way, I feel like I worked really hard on the music he wanted, especially since what Turn A Gundam needed to express its depth wasn’t “build up music”, but “music that reflects the same philosophy”.

(Source)

About dijeh

I translate things, mainly almost everything that has to do with gods screwing with humans' lives and getting their asses kicked in return.
This entry was posted in Gundam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

